Henry County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook


Henry County, Georgia, was established by the State Legislature in 1821 from lands acquired from the Creek Indian Nation under the Treaty of Indian Springs. Henry County was originally much larger than it is today; including land areas which in whole or in part constitute the present day counties of Fulton, Dekalb, Rockdale, Newton, Butts, Spalding, Fayette, and Clayton.
During the Pioneer Era, the population grew very rapidly and Henry County became a major center for farming and commerce in upper Georgia. The antebellum residents of the County included the ancestors of President Lyndon Johnson and Gone With The Wind author Margaret Mitchell. Henry County was devastated by Sherman's March to the Sea during the War Between the States.
Throughout most of her history Henry County has been a quiet farming community; however, the last thirty years have seen phenomenal growth. The population of the County has increased from 20,000 in 1970; to 60,000 in 1990; to over 100,000 today. Projections are the population will top 150,000 in 5 years and by 2020 will reach 250,000. This is an exciting time to be in Henry County.
- Gene Morris, Henry County Historian

To Advertise In Henry County Georgia


Roger Bredow
Phone: 770-377-9991

Email: valuecom@yahoo.com

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2003 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom