Bartow County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook

A Look At The History Of Bartow County Georgia

Originally occupied by the Cherokee Indians, Bartow County was created from a portion of Cherokee County by an Act of the Georgia Legislature and established on December 3, 1832. It was originally named Cass County in honor of Lewis Cass, then Secretary of War under Andrew Jackson. Later, the views of Gen. Cass on the issue of slavery caused a change of feeling, and on December 6, 1861, the name of the county was changed to Bartow in honor of Francis S. Bartow, a Savannah attorney and later a Confederate Army Officer who was killed on July 21, 1861 at Manassas Plains. While leading a charge during this famous battle, a Yankee bullet hit his heart and he was caught in the arms of Col. Lucius Gartrell. Bartow lived long enough to say Boys, they have killed me, but never give up the field.

Cassville, the county seat before the Civil War was destroyed in 1864. The populace voted to move their seat of government to Cartersville (named for an important north Georgia planter and entrepreneur Farrish Carter), and began to rebuild. Stately southern mansions as well as log cabins were restored and continue to stand today as a reminder of the heritage and human sacrifice of early historic preservation.

For more information on Bartow County including facts about the Etowah Indian Mounds, Ladds Mountain, Trail of Tears, Coopers Furnace, Lake Allatoona and Allatoona Dam, Euharlee Covered Bridge, the Great Locomotive Chase of Kingston and more, visit some of the links on our Bartow County Information page.

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom