Hall County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook

A Look At The History Of Hall County Georgia

Hall County's heritage is as rich and varied as a colorful tapestry. Originally created in 1818 from Indian Treaty lands, early settlers migrated here seeking fertile land for farming. Georgia's 44th county was named for Lyman Hall, a signer of the Declaration of Independence who served as Georgia's governor in 1783.
Major expansion in Gainesville, the county's largest municipality, followed the 1871 construction of the Atlanta to Charlotte Railroad. The community became a resort center and summer vacation destination for patrons drawn to its cool summer climate and sparkling streams.

Agribusiness has long been the cornerstone of Hall County's economy. Prior to being the "Poultry Capital of the World," Hall County's main resource for industry was cotton and lumber. At the early part of the century, manufacturers were shipping these products across the United States and to Europe. History shows that from 1900-1920, Hall County became a center for poultry production. Thanks to the development of the poultry industry, Hall County faired well during the 1920's Cotton Bust, while other North Georgia counties suffered. With Hall County leading the way, Georgia has been one of the top poultry producing states in the nation since 1957.

The resiliency of our citizens has been tested throughout the years as a result of devastating tornadoes. In 1936, a tornado that struck downtown Gainesville killed over 200 people. In 1938, President Franklin D. Roosevelt visited Gainesville to see how the community had been rebuilt. Roosevelt Square, situated between the Hall County Courthouse and the Gainesville City Hall, was named in honor of Roosevelt's visit. In March 1998, a tornado touched down in northern Hall County and southern White County killing 13 people.

Taken from the Official Hall County Website

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom