Walton County - Metro Atlanta Guidebook

A Look At The History Of Walton County Georgia

Walton County was little more than a wilderness, formed of lands that had belonged to the Creek and Cherokee Indians, when it was first organized by the state legislature 18 December 1818. (*created from Creek cession of 22 JAN 1818, an original county)*. Created by the Lottery Act of 1818, Walton County was orgainized in 1819, after being released in a treaty negotiated at the Cherokee Agency in Tennessee on 08 July 1817. At it's fomration, Walton County had a 394 square mile area that was increased when 250 acres of Jackson County was annexed on 19 Dec 1818.
This new county, Georgia's 46th county, was named for George WALTON, who along with fellow Georgians, Button Gwinnett and Lyman Hall, signed the Declaration of Independence. George WALTON also served as governor of Georgia and was a U.S. senator.

Walton County was populated by the Georgia Land lotteries, beginning with the 3rd or 1820 Lottery (standard 250 acres lots of the newly organized Walton County).

Add Business Listing
Barrow County
Bartow County
Carroll County
Cherokee County
Clayton County
Cobb County
Coweta County
DeKalb County
Douglas County
Fayette County
Forsyth County
Fulton County
Gwinnett County
Hall County
Henry County
Newton County
Paulding County
Rockdale County
Spalding County
Walton County
© 2021 Roger Bredow dba/Valuecom